Concerns and Complaints

At QVS we take the welfare of your child very seriously and will wish to deal with any concern or complaint you may have promptly.

It may be best to start with the person most closely concerned with the issue. For example, to raise House matters with the Housemaster/Housemistress or Principal Teacher of the individual subject, who may be able to sort things out quickly, with the minimum of fuss. Another alternative would be to address your concern through the Parents’ Liaison Group. However, you may prefer to take the matter to a member of school’s senior leadership. The Depute Head Teacher (Pastoral & Guidance) has particular responsibility of pupil welfare, and as the School’s Child Protection Coordinator is always available to see any pupil or parent who wishes to do so. To raise a concern or complaint with the Chair of Her Majesty’s Commissioners (HMC), this should be done through the School Business Manager, as Secretary to the Board of HMC.

The table below gives contact details of Housemasters and Housemistresses, Principal Teachers, and the Senior Leadership Team, any of which will be happy to help. Our Complaints Policy can be found here.

House Housemaster/Housemistress E-mail 
Cunningham Mr Mike Eastham mike.eastham@qvs.org.uk
Haig Mr Ron Boyd ron.boyd@qvs.org.uk
Trenchard Mr Alistair Bryce (Acting) alistair.bryce@qvs.org.uk
Wavell Ms Rebecca Appleyard rebecca.appleyard@qvs.org.uk
Subject Principal Teacher 
Art Mr David Gilhooly david.gilhooly@qvs.org.uk
Business Management Mr Robert Wright bob.wright@qvs.org.uk
Computing Mr John Lawrence john.lawrence@qvs.org.uk
English Mr Alan Kirk alan.kirk@qvs.org.uk
Mathematics Ms Caroline McBlain caroline.mcblain@qvs.org.uk
Modern Languages Mrs Laura Bairner laura.bairner@qvs.org.uk
Music Mr David Breingan david.breingan@qvs.org.uk
Physical Education (PE) Mr Duncan McLay duncan.mclay@qvs.org.uk
Primary Dept Mr Tom King tom.king@qvs.org.uk
Pupil Support Mr Graeme Beattie graeme.beattie@qvs.org.uk
Sciences Mr Duncan Davey duncan.davey@qvs.org.uk
Social Subjects Mrs Kirsten Rodger kirsten.rodger@qvs.org.uk
Technical Mr Steve Laing steve.laing@qvs.org.uk
Senior Leadership Team 
DHT (Academic) Mrs Janette Scott-Laing janette.scott-laing@qvs.org.uk
DHT (Pupil Support) Miss Carole Phipps carole.phipps@qvs.org.uk
DHT (Pastoral & Guidance) Mr Steve Adams steve.adams@qvs.org.uk
School Business Manager Mr Nigel Cunningham nigel.cunningham@qvs.org.uk
Head Mr Donald Shaw donald.shaw@qvs.org.uk head@qvs.org.uk